Posted in Exercise, Healthy lifestyle, Organic Strength and Fitness, Top Tips

My Top 5 Tips For Reducing Food Waste

 

  1. If you make too much – freeze it.
  2. Have leftovers for lunch the next day. Most foods last longer than you’d think.
  3. Don’t throw out foods that have passed their best before date – This only tells you that it isn’t as fresh as it could be but there is nothing actually wrong with it.
  4. Weigh foods so you only use the amount you really need.
  5. Walk to and from the supermarket – If you have to physically carry it home you won’t want to buy so much.

Number 5 is my favourite. I started doing my food shop on the way home from the gym (which I walk to) as it was just convenient. I don’t buy half as much as when I’ve got the car because I’m consciously thinking of how heavy it will be to carry. It is also extra exercise, and good exercise at that. The walk is great, low impact aerobic exercise and the carrying is resistance training at its very basic. If you consider how heavy bags of potatoes and tins of beans can be, it is a very simple yet effective way of increasing your daily/weekly activity level!

Leave a Reply

