Posted in Food labelling, Healthy eating, organic

Why go organic?

There are lots of different reasons as to why more and more people are wanting to Go Organic. Health and animal welfare are probably the two that stand out the most.

For years I have been following a healthy, balanced diet and exercise regime. As I have gotten older, as the years have passed, I learn more and more about what this really entails. I believe there is not enough information given to people/consumers about the truth of what they are really buying. With food, not only are you buying produce that you don’t fully understand but you are also eating it. We read about eating healthily everyday. You are told to eat more fruit and veg and less sugar. This is sound advise, I don’t deny that, but did you know that the fruit and veg you are eating is doused in pesticides and that there is sugar even in the so called ‘healthy’ ready meals you are eating?

If someone put a bowl of fruit in front of you and sprayed it with a pesticide right in front of your eyes, would you eat it? I don’t think you would, but we are, everyday. Unless you Go Organic.

In order for foods to be labelled as Organic by The Soil Association, produce must meet certain standards.

I first started to go organic with meat and dairy produce. Anything from an animal, I buy organic. I have been doing this for over a year now and I am now consciously unable to buy anything other than organic anymore. This makes it difficult sometimes when I am looking for a certain type or cut of meat for a certain recipe. For example I cannot for the life of me seem to find organic diced lamb anywhere near where I live. So there is this really nice Greek dish that I want to make but I haven’t because I need diced lamb. I could cut it up but this is not the point I am making. I just don’t buy any. I make a different recipe. It’s a pain in the ass but one that I see as necessary now. I cannot consciously buy any animal products that are not organic.

Take a look at The Soil Association’s website.

https://www.soilassociation.org/

There is a lot of very useful information on there about food labelling. We, as consumers, put an awful lot of trust (I think) into what we are told. A food label of any kind makes you think that the product has met certain standards that you can trust. There is a page on the website that gives a star rating to the different food labels you may see on meat. The Soil Association Organic symbol gets 5 stars whereas the Red Tractor Assured Food Standards symbol only gets 1. It goes on to explain that the Red Tractor labelled foods ‘comply with UK minimum legal requirements.’ And that ‘it is not a guarantee of good animal welfare.’ Did you know that? Because I didn’t.

It also advises not to buy meats without any welfare label at all, explaining the poor living conditions of the animals and that they have to be ‘routinely dosed with antibiotics just to keep them alive.’

This was actually one of the first reasons I chose to change to organic animal products. You may call me naïve but I had no idea that animals were given antibiotics just to keep them either ‘healthy’ or alive. Where are we given this information? I don’t remember being told that at school. Isn’t this the sort of thing people should be taught? So that we can make informed decisions about our health?

Don’t believe everything you read. So take a look at their website and read it for yourself, don’t just listen to me.

https://www.soilassociation.org/

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

